Arkansas School Band and Orchestra Association

PO Box 2024 – Russellville, AR  72811
PH  479-498-6059 – FAX  479-498-6063


May 14, 2018


The Raymond and Ruth Brandon Scholarship was established to honor their many years of faithful service to the Arkansas School Band and Orchestra Association and the Arkansas Bandmasters Association.  The ASBOA Executive Advisory Committee was given the responsibility of administrating the scholarship. Since many scholarships are available for entering music majors, the committee decided to offer this scholarship to an individual entering the instrumental music profession in the state of Arkansas.  This scholarship could help with the transition time until their first paycheck in September, or it could be invested in professional materials.


In keeping with the spirit of Ray and Ruth’s selfless service to others, we are seeking individuals who have demonstrated high scholastic achievement, leadership ability, and a desire to help and serve others – the ‘we - us’ mind-set, not the ‘I - me’ attitude.


An application for the scholarship is attached.  Please complete and return the application with all requested materials to the ASBOA office by 3:00 PM on July 24, 2018.  If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at the ASBOA office.



Julia Reynolds



Previous Recipients

2004 – Jennifer Rowe (ATU) – Charleston & Julie Rutherford (ATU) – Danville

2005 – Chris Moore (U of A Fayetteville) – Springdale George Junior High

2006 – Angela Clark (ATU) – Fort Smith, Lisa Hafner (ATU) – Ola & Marie Pokorski (UCA) – Forrest City

2007 – Micah Glover (UCA) – Mayflower

2008 – Chris Davis (ATU) – Mountain Home  

2009 – Kaci Sterling (UCA) – Bigelow

2010 – Katy Newton (UCA) – Yellville-Summit & Grant Harbison (ASU, North Texas) – West Memphis

2011 – C.J. Morris (U of A Fayetteville) – Farmington & Monique Hernandez (ATU) – Clarksville

2012 – Aubrey Ella Elliott (Ouachita Baptist University) – Bentonville Schools

2013 – Michael Bollero (U of A Fayetteville) – Bentonville Schools

2014 – Nathan Cunningham (U of A Fayetteville) – Conway Schools
2015 – Seth Jansen (A-State) – Jonesboro Schools & Trent Warner (UCA, TCU) – Jonesboro Schools  

2016 – Christa Burgess (A-State) – Mount Ida Schools

2017 – Patrice Brown (ATU) – Rogers, Cassie Ferrell (A-State) – Brookland, Daniel Severs (UCA) – Greenbrier,
Lauren Lacy (UCA) – Conway Public Schools



Scholarship Application